Make your own free website on


Pilgrimage to Mecca (Al-Hajj)

Q.1 On whom is the performance of Hajj (Pilgrimage to Mecca) incumbent ?

Ans : The performance of Hajj is incumbent on all Muslims, at least once in a lifetime, if circumstances permit, i.e. if they are in a position both physically and materially to undertake the journey to Mecca, and make sufficient provision for their dependent during the period of their absence.



Q.2 How do you define Hajj ?

Ans : The Pilgrimage to Mecca in the state of Ihram to be adopted at the Miqat strictly carrying out all that it imposes, observing Wuqoof at ‘Arafat’, performing the Tawaf at Ka’ba, etc in accordance with the prescribed laws is called Hajj.



Q.3 What is ‘Umra ?

Ans : The visit to Mecca at anytime of the year, in the state of Ihram to be adopted at Miqat, performing the Tawaf round Ka’ba in Mecca and accomplishing Sa’ee in accordance with the prescribed laws is called ‘Umra.



Q.4 What do you mean by Ihram ?

Ans : The removal of sewn clothes from the body and wrapping it up in a couple of seamless sheets at the Miqat with the intention of performing Hajj or ‘Umra, and abstaining from all things that are unlawful for those intending to perform Hajj or ‘Umra signifies Ihram.



Q.5 What do you understand by Tawaf ?

Ans : The performance of seven circuits, round the Ka’ba (in Mecca) commencing from the Black Stone and having the Ka’ba on one’s left is called Tawaf.



Q.6 What does the term Sa’ee signify ?

Ans : Sa’ee signifies the act of marching to and from between the two hills of Sa’ee and Mecca (near Ka’ba) in accordance with the prescribed laws.



Q.7 What is Wuqoof ?

Ans : The stay at ‘Arafat, at least for few minutes, during the time between the declining of the sun from the meridian on the 9th of Zil Hijja (the 12th lunar month) and before the dawn of the 10th of Zil Hijja is called Wuqoof.



Q.8 What territory does Haram constitute ?

Ans : The city of Mecca, in which make the Ka’ba is situated along with certain defined outlying territory on all its sides, is called Haram.



Q.9 What are Miqats ?

Ans : The boundary lines which make the pilgrims or those who want to perform ‘Umra should not cross without adopting the Ihram are Miqats.



Q.10 How many  Miqats are there ? What are their names and for whom do they indicate the boundary line of Haram ?

Ans : There are five Miqats in all viz :

1)      Zul-Hulaifa or Bi’r Ali, which indicates the border line of Haram for those coming from the side of Madina.

2)      Zat-al-Iraq serves as Miqat for those coming form the side of Iraq or Mesopotamia.

3)      Jahfa or Rabigh is the Miqat for those from Syria.

4)      Quarn for those from side of Nedjd.

5)      Yalamlam for those from the direction of Yemen, Pakistan, India etc.